BridalCheek

a journey toward non-traditional wedded bliss, with style

Take a Dress, Make it Your Own January 12, 2009

Filed under: do it yourself,fashion,gowns,inspiration,wedding planning,weddings — laragale @ 10:07 pm

Trolling around on Weddingbee, I found these amazing pictures from Sara who added her two cents to “But is it Really Me?” article. I am blown away! She went with a simple dress from J Crew and made it uniquely her own by stitching together pieces of antique kimonos to make this incredible sash. Honestly, this is one of the most beautiful dresses I have ever seen, and I love her advice:

“I had the same problem when searching for my dress. I didn’t want to spend a ton of money, and none of the dresses that I tried on really felt or looked like “me.” So I ended up going with the trusty J. Crew Sophia dress that I found on clearance for $60. My mom and I added our own flair to it, based on a design that I had seen on a dressmaker’s website. We made a sash out of antique kimonos that matched beautifully. It made for a unique dress that was totally and completely me. If you can’t find what you’re looking for in a store, take a plain dress and make it your own.”

 

sash4

Photography by Blue Lotus

 

5 Responses to “Take a Dress, Make it Your Own”

  1. Sara Says:

    Hey, that’s me! Thanks for the compliments. It’s the first time I’ve been posted on a blog. Very exciting! And I just wanted to make sure that Blue Lotus Photography got the credit for their wonderful pictures. Thanks again!

  2. laragale Says:

    You’re so welcome, I really do love your gown! Such an awesome way to make a statement without spending a fortune :)

  3. Heather M Says:

    That is what I am doing too! I found a JCrew Isla Embossed Beach cotton wedding gown for $50 and am adding my own handmade floral appliques at the bodice. The appliques will be made out of antique lace and aprons that I found at an estate sale last summer!

  4. laragale Says:

    That sounds gorgeous! I’d love to see pictures!

  5. Carol Says:

    Heather M: I also purchased the Isla and I am having the bodice ‘reconstructed’ to be more supportive and have a sweetheart neckline. Its such a beautiful dress, I love the flowy cotton. Its casual in a way, but I still feel like a bride in it. Please post pictures if you can, the appliques sound beautiful!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.