BridalCheek

a journey toward non-traditional wedded bliss, with style

Fun with Crinoline March 18, 2008

Rock ‘n Roll Bride’s post yesterday reminded me, as if I needed another reason, how much I love colored crinolines. There is a vintage store in Columbus where there is a whole wall full of fluffy petticoats in every imaginable color and it makes me feel like a kid in a candy store. This bride inspired me, because her overall look is glamorous and playful at the same time, which I think is a difficult balance to pull off.

I put together my own vintage version of her outfit. Its a little matchy-matchy, but I think the chicness of the dress with the nipped in waist and attached neck scarf would be a great contrast to the royal blue and purple crinoline just peeking out the bottom. I have to give Betsey Johnson props for the shoes too; her designs can sometimes be a little over the top but these are fantastic, mostly because of the floral patterned sole!

vintagebride.jpg

vintage dress, crinoline, shoes, clutch, feather headpiece

 

2 Responses to “Fun with Crinoline”

  1. jnicholea Says:

    Oh this is so adorable. Wear this! Or maybe I will. I am loving the bi- and tri- colored crinolines.

  2. kat Says:

    Gorgeous right!!?
    Im wearing a crinoline (or petticoat as i would call it) on friday for my hen (bachelorette) party but i made it myself with some tulle and a bit of elastic – total cost about £4! Check out http://rocknrollbride.blogspot.com/ next week for pix!


Leave a Reply

