BridalCheek

a journey toward non-traditional wedded bliss, with style

Of course I had to post this… April 16, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — laragale @ 4:32 pm

The Knot created a list of 30 Cheeky First Dance songs, a trend that is becoming all the more popular with campy choreography and bridal party participation (check out YouTube for some good examples). Whether your dance is tongue-in-cheek or not, just make sure it has meaning for you. My favorites are in bold!

1. “A Fine Romance” (Joe Derise)
2. “After The Loving” (Englebert Humperdinck)
3. “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” (Ashford & Simpson)
4. “An Old Fashioned Wedding” (from “Annie Get Your Gun”)
5. “Ain’t That A Kick In The Head” (Dean Martin)
6. “Because” (Dave Clark Five)
7. “Could It Be I’m Falling In Love” (The Spinners)
8. “Destination Moon” (Dinah Washington)
9. “Happy Together” (The Turtles)
10. “I Got You Babe” (Sonny & Cher)
11. “I Love You, Always Forever” (Donna Lewis)
12. “I Only Want To Be With You” (Vonda Shepard)
13. “I Say A Little Prayer” (Aretha Franklin)
14. “I Think I Love You” (The Partridge Family)
15. “I’ll Never Fall In Love Again” (Burt Bacharach & Elvis Costello)
16. “I’m A Believer” (The Monkees)
17. “Islands In The Stream” (Dolly Parton & Kenny Rogers)
18. “Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off” (Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong)
19. “Love And Marriage” (Frank Sinatra)
20. “Love Is Strange” (Mickey & Sylvia)
21. “Loving You” (Minnie Riperton)
22. “Memories Are Made Of This” (Dean Martin)
23. “Never Knew Love Like This” (The Spinners & Dionne Warwick)
24. “Oh, What A Night” (The Four Seasons)
25. “Orange Colored Sky” (Nat King Cole)
26. “Orange Colored Sky” (Natalie Cole)
27. “She’s An Angel” (They Might Be Giants)
28. “Sometimes When We Touch” (Dan Hill)
29. “With Plenty Of Money And You” (Count Basie & Tony Bennett)
30. “You’re My First, My Last, My Everything” (Barry White)
31. “You’re Nobody ‘Till Somebody Loves You” (Dean Martin)

And we did get a gift of dancing lessons for Christmas, so maybe we’ll have to start practicing our Thriller moves…

 

One Response to “Of course I had to post this…”

  1. Abbie in CO Says:

    My parents think I’m a nut-ball because I love “Islands in the Stream”… so I’m glad I’m not the only one! I guess there’s a BeeGees version, too, but I’m a DP and KR girl all the way.


Leave a Reply

