BridalCheek

a journey toward non-traditional wedded bliss, with style

Weekends of Weddings April 28, 2008

Even my vacations are wedding filled! I’m back for a brief jaunt in Ohio before heading up to Canada this week for our best man’s wedding. We’re staying in a quaint inn with jacuzzi tubs and couple’s massages, smack in the middle of wine country. Sounds pretty good, eh?

This last weekend Drew and I spent at our alma mater. The guys golfed and the girls (2 recently married, 3 getting married within the next year) shopped and had long chats about…you guessed it. Not to mention we’ll be attending 3 other weddings just this summer. So closing in on one year to our wedding, I’m being bombarded from all angles and fortunately I couldn’t be loving it more. I’ve heard that the wedding doldrums or stress always take over eventually, but so far so good!

One of the hot topics this weekend was flowers. Flowers are obviously synonymous with weddings and even though I’m a big proponent of using other elements (branches, candles, water etc) flowers definitely do up the prettiness factor. We’ve already splurged on the location and the photographer so we were brainstorming ways to not be too ridiculous with the decor. Of course I immediately fell in love with orchids (expensive), especially cybidium orchids (even more expensive) which might be somewhat of a hurdle. But I think I still may be able to get the best of both worlds, and one way could be using expensive flowers in sparing but striking arrangements like this fishbowl idea. I think I would choose a differently shaped container, but the mix of simple lines and textures is chic and cheap. More details to come!

 

3 Responses to “Weekends of Weddings”

  1. missgrumplebottom Says:

    Firstly, holy hell, I didn’t even know Jon Collins was engaged! That’s crazy (in a total shock to the system kind of way)!

    Second, the water bowl/flower idea is a really good one … I saw it done on “Whose Wedding is it Anyway?” with very brightly colored orchids, and you’re right, it’s a great way to stretch the flower budget when you’ve picked an expensive flower. I didn’t realize that you had picked cymbidium orchids – that website I told you about forever ago on Facebook has them though at wholesale, in a variety of colors (including a pale green). Jason and I are using orchids too, although ours are going to be blue dendrobium orchids … I found some that look dip-dyed and go from dark blue on the outside to white on the inside … so pretty!

    Anyway, I hope everything planning-wise (and otherwise, lol) is going well – don’t get too stressed, a year is still pleeenty of time. 🙂

  2. laragale Says:

    Those orchids sound gorgeous, I’m a sucker for anything that looks dip dyed. And congratulations again too…all the sudden everyone is grown up! 🙂

  3. This is Cool – What have you done with the fish though!


Leave a Reply

