BridalCheek

a journey toward non-traditional wedded bliss, with style

Monique and I meet again May 5, 2008

Somehow in my frenetic weekend schedule I managed to squeeze in a Monique Lhuillier trunk show to try on a few more dresses. Even though I’m mostly decided on my final two contenders it never hurts to exhaust all your options…and I’ve made it a point to do just that. Who doesn’t love trying on dresses?

Since I can never get away from my English major tendencies, let me sum up my experience with an analogy: Monique Lhuillier is to Wedding Dresses as Apple is to Technology. I adore Apple products. They always look adorable and more streamlined than anything else on the market, have relevant advertising with sweet music, and I will put it out there that I’m pretty much addicted to my I-Pod. The issue with Apple is that once you start, it’s hard to go back especially if you’re a sucker for packaging like I am. Of course as Drew very reasonably points out to me, their products cost much more than an equivalent, though less adorable, options do.

The Monique Lhuillier dresses felt the same way to me. Judging on advertising and reputation alone, Monique Lhuillier dresses are top of the line. Her fabric is gorgeous, the details exquisite…I can attest to all of this. However, they do come with an enormous price tag, starting just under $4,000 but most of the dresses running from $5,000 to $8,000.

So really it comes down to priorities. Especially with the style of dress I’m attracted to, there wasn’t anything stellar enough for me to justify the price tag. But at the same time, I’m 99% sure I want to buy a Mac Air so if there had been a dress that felt like the one, I may have been powerless to resist…

This dress is stunning in the picture and on the rack, just not on me. Maybe the sizing of the dress was just too off, or maybe it wasn’t fitting right after so many people trying it on, but the pleating on the bust stuck straight out. I mean, really straight out. I looked like one of those lizards with a neck ruff. Whatever it was, it was more funny than flattering.

There weren’t any parts of this dress I didn’t like. The billowy effect was Grecian and pretty (although I know I would snag the side panels on something almost immediately). It just wasn’t love…

This isn’t the exact dress I tried on, but it’s very close. The bodice on the one I tried on didn’t have beading, and had a slight frayed edge right around my waist, which was a subtle unexpected detail I loved. But again, it didn’t have that little something extra I’m looking for.

 

Leave a Reply

