BridalCheek

a journey toward non-traditional wedded bliss, with style

“Bollywood meets Hollywood” May 7, 2008

One of my goals in this entire wedding brouhaha (and life in general) is to stay as relaxed as possible, which has become slightly more difficult lately due to our hectic schedules. Fortunately, being a teacher has a way of putting things into perspective. Today, for example, I walked over to a group of my students involved in a frenzied debate over some unimportant disagreement. The climax of the argument was when one student called another student “emo.” Following a stunned silence, Student A stood up, wailed “I am not a two legged flightless bird!” and stalked out in a huff. Seriously. I’m not even making this up.

So In that spirit, if you’re in need of a lighthearted take on weddings you should absolutely rent Bride & Prejudice. It combines two of my favorite things: Bollywood and Jane Austen into something that can only be described as camptastic. I stumbled across this movie on TV last night and was reminded of how dearly I love it, and felt compelled to share!

 

3 Responses to ““Bollywood meets Hollywood””

  1. Michelle Says:

    Classic bollywood! Its one of those “if you took out or fast forward through the random songs, its a pretty good movie”!

  2. laragale Says:

    I actually love the songs even though I usually don’t like musicals. I think it’s partly because of the dancing and partly because it’s so corny it’s fabulous!

  3. Kate Says:

    OMG – I LOVE this movie! This is one of those perfect movies to put on while addressing wedding envelopes or working on DIY stuff.


Leave a Reply

