BridalCheek

a journey toward non-traditional wedded bliss, with style

In Honor of Mother’s Day May 12, 2008

Sadly, most manufactured “Mother of the Bride” dresses are sack-like and unflattering, which is a disservice to the woman wearing it more than anything else, because a wedding day is almost if not more emotional for a mom as her daughter. I understand the urge not to overshadow the bride, but I think my Mom deserves to look fabulous too. I completely accept that we have different styles and that ultimately I want her to pick what makes her happy, but I plan to have her try on more than just floor length pastel chiffon sheaths with matching beaded boleros. I have no idea what we’ll end up with, but here are a few ideas I love...

Badgley Mischka, Diane von Furstenburg, Donna Karan, J Crew, JS Collections

 

2 Responses to “In Honor of Mother’s Day”

  1. Michelle Says:

    You must have one skinny Mom for her to be able to pull of any of those looks. As cute as they are, most mom’s can’t wear anything modeled by a 15 year old toothpick. =)

  2. laragale Says:

    My mom is actually far from a toothpick and very petite, but I still think a lot of these dresses would be flattering on different sizes. Especially the DvF and the J Crew since they have heavier fabric and defined waists…what can I say, I’m a student of Stacey and Clinton from What Not to Wear 🙂


Leave a Reply

