BridalCheek

a journey toward non-traditional wedded bliss, with style

All Hail the Cookie Table June 4, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — laragale @ 8:21 pm

There are some regional wedding traditions I’ve discovered in the Midwest that I am not that fond of, like the Chicken Dance which I pretty much detest with every fiber of my being. However, I have to give Ohio and Pennsylvania *credit for what is quickly becoming my all-time favorite wedding cliche: the cookie table.

I had no idea what a cookie table was until I finally asked about the insane amount of cookies that always seemed to be heaped in a corner of the wedding receptions in the area. It turns out that couples who participate in this tradition have all their family members bake up a frenzy in the weeks before the wedding and put all the resulting cookies on a decorated table. Guests can eat as much as they want at the reception and then are given doggie bags to take the extras home. And as the size and variety of your cookie table is apparently somewhat of a competition in these parts, there is always a ton leftover. What’s not to love about this? I think it’s a great way for your family to be involved in the wedding, and of course anything with cookies makes me happy. This is one traditional element I think we will most definitely adopt for our wedding, especially because Drew’s Grandma makes a mean gingersnap!

* According to Wikipedia, the tradition began in Youngstown, but my friends from Pittsburgh disagree, which is why I credited both cities…

 

6 Responses to “All Hail the Cookie Table”

  1. Linda Says:

    I’ve never seen the cookie table at an Ohio wedding, but I did at every Pennsylvanian wedding(I’ve been to quite a few). I think the cookie table is a great idea!

  2. Lisa Says:

    My FH and I are getting married on 6-13-08 and the cookie table was A MUST. When we first started telling people the date and time of the wedding, the next question was, what kind of cookies can i make for you? We were going to do appetizers, but we have had so many people insist on making cookies for us, we cut out the appetizers! My FH is from WV and I am originally from MD so when I told my aunt thats what we were doing she looked at me like I was nuts! I think shell change her mind 😀

  3. Lora Says:

    I am so glad that you’ve adopted the idea of the cookie table! My sisters, mother and myself are coming together to create a small business creatively titled “The Cookie Table.” We want to spread this regional tradition world wide because it is so well perceived by many brides and grooms today! Why get over done by cake when there’s so many cookies to choose from?! 😀

  4. Lauren Says:

    I’m a PA bride who will certainly have a cookie table at my wedding in April. So it’s time to start baking and freezing. My only problem is I don’t know how much of each kind to make! I’m hvaing approximately 150 guests at my wedding. Does anyone have a source for how many I need? Help!!!

  5. laragale Says:

    I don’t have an exact answer, but I would say the more the better! Having a ton leftover at the end of the night is good, because your guests can fill bags to take home. I would try to enlist your family to help too, so you don’t have to do all that baking yourself 🙂

  6. Anya Says:

    The tradition of a cookie table started in Italy centuries ago and for a while it became a bit of a tradition here in southern Africa for a short while in the sixties but it never caught on. People wanted healthier food at weddings: salads, crudites etc. The only stodge encouraged was the wedding cake!


Leave a Reply

