BridalCheek

a journey toward non-traditional wedded bliss, with style

Out of Town Bags August 14, 2008

The wedding last weekend convinced me that we absolutely should have Out of Town bags for our guests. It was awesome to arrive at the hotel and find a bag full of the essentials for a Pennsylvania wedding: snacks, bottles of water, Advil, a magnetized version of the Steeler’s schedule this year 🙂 The bride even hand-wrote a card for everyone, which was incredibly sweet and much appreciated.

So now that we know we want to use the gift bag idea, all we have to do is figure out a style of bag, and of course what to fill it with. Our goals are simple, 1) give our guests things they’ll use and/or enjoy 2) include items that tie in with our wedding or location in some way and 3) not spend exorbitant amounts of money. As far as bags go, here are a few options I love.

These are adorable, recycled, and fit in with our black and white theme. The only problem is that there is no link for where to find them on the blog where I got the picture, but I’ll keep my eyes peeled…

Apparently these bags are not only cute and customizable with different colors and decals, but very cheap at only $2.61 each.

It’s a much more minimalist look, but I really like the plain brown paper bag and it could be dressed up with ribbon and tissue paper, or even a stamp of your wedding monogram if you wanted to get really fancy.

We’re not getting married in New York, but I think these carton style boxes are totally awesome, and probably at the top of my list right now for cuteness, if not practicality.

For the goodies inside the bag, I was thinking the usual helpful information like directions, a note, fun activities around the area, but also some local treats from both our hometowns. The original plan was to have the wedding in Seattle, but since that didn’t end up being practical since we want all of our friends to be able to come (and let me say for the record, I’m still pissed at Skybus), at least we can give our guests some coffee and smoked salmon right?

What did you include in your Out of Town bags?

 

9 Responses to “Out of Town Bags”

  1. Ms. 122 Says:

    i told my mom i wanted to do oot bags, she looked at me like i had just told her the eiffel tower grew 15 feet over night. i’m still going to do them, though. filled with goodies and random facts and other useless but still deliciously necessary items. i know, it’s contradictory, but awesome.

  2. laragale Says:

    hey food is never useless in my mind 🙂

  3. Marit Says:

    You can get some neat bags/boxes from nashvillewraps.com. A friend of mine makes some neat bags too, and she will do custom:

    pink.red.green flowers matching handles
  4. […] public links >> goodies Santogold ‘Lights Out’ Saved by jesusfreakron7 on Tue 14-10-2008 Out of Town Bags Saved by mandyloveskittycats on Tue 14-10-2008 Comment on Dharma Wants You! by lost4ever Saved by […]

  5. My Friend Austin Cassleman owns this company and he really helped me with my wedding. His company helped me create my wedding logo, website, bags, invites,programs and gifts, ect. They were Amazing to work with and helped with everything!!! You will be pleased~!!

  6. Jessica Douglass Says: November 13, 2008 at 12:58 am
    My Friend Austin Cassleman owns this company and he really helped me with my wedding. His company helped me create my wedding logo, website, bags, invites,programs and gifts, ect. They were Amazing to work with and helped with everything!!! You will be pleased~!!
    The web site is

    http://www.printresourcestn.com/

  7. shaina Says:

    is there a link for the brown bags above? they are so cute

  8. Sarah Says:

    Do you have a link to the customizable beach bags for $2.61 each? Thanks!!

  9. Brazilians 2 Although auto title loan is not available for restaurants, you’ll be famous!


Leave a Reply

