BridalCheek

a journey toward non-traditional wedded bliss, with style

Mrs. Jane Smith-Doe September 10, 2008

Imagine my surprise when I came home today to mail adressed to me with my married name...eight months before the wedding? It was just a mailer from our mortgage company (and it was clearly a mistake since we cosigned for our house with our current names) but it was fun because it was an unexpected reminder that married life is on its way. I can’t wait!

This little incident also made me think about the issue of name changing in general. If I had any attachment to my last name I would keep it. But because a) both Drew and I have extremely generic last names b) my family name was changed at Ellis Island so it doesn’t have much history and c) its just so much more convenient I didn’t think twice about it. I understand and agree with women keeping their names if they have a personal reason, although there is something about sharing a name with your significant other that speaks to the whole partnership aspect of a relationship. It doesn’t have to be the groom’s last name. I’ve heard pretty endearing stories about men taking their wife’s name and of course there is always hyphenation (as long as your poor future kindergartner doesn’t have a 37 letter name to spell). In the end its always a personal choice, but I do think its cool that we have so many more options today, even if I did end up with the typical one. Drew’s family name did use to be Fury back in the day though, so maybe we’ll have to change it back because that’s pretty sweet!

 

5 Responses to “Mrs. Jane Smith-Doe”

  1. I went to school with a girl that had the longest last name ever. Needless to say kindergarden was hell for her.

    I plan to change my last name to his. I too am dreading going through all of the legal paperwork to do a name change. My job alone requires 3 to 4 papers to fill out for a name change. Jeez.

  2. I also have a Generic name but I can not wait to take on his! – I will also have the same name as our children which is hugely important to me!

    oh and I have added a link to you on my page!

    http://www.almostabride.co.uk

  3. I am still torn about whether or not to change my name. I do have sentimental attachment to my last name, but I also want to share the same last name with my husband. Hyphenating just creates this awkward name but if I change to his name, I go from near the front of the alphabet ALLLLLL the way to the back. I know thats a trivial thing – but its in my head!

  4. laragale Says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only one thinking about this! It would almost be cool if you both could both pick a totally new name when you get married. Changing your name isn’t trivial so I understand why you’re worried!

  5. abncparties Says:

    Names can be a challenge…you will have it for a long time, hopefully, so make sure it is one you can live with……


Leave a Reply

