BridalCheek

a journey toward non-traditional wedded bliss, with style

Buying in Bulk January 25, 2009

I’m not going to lie, when Drew casually mentioned that he wanted us to get a Costco membership I had a brief moment of panic. I stumbled over myself trying to give excuse after excuse (they won’t have enought organic food, how will we possibly store an 80 pound box of toilet paper etc) but my real problem was that a long time ago I filed Costco away in the “only if and when we have kids” segment of my brain. Still, I let Drew drag me along one Sunday afternoon to check it out. I was reasonably sure we wouldn’t find anything, and leave sans membership, with our early 20’s independent pride intact. Of couse I was wrong.

I won’t bore you with tales of all the fabulous organic items we found, the way cheaper energy efficient lightbulbs, or the eco-friendly showerhead we got totally excited about, because this is a wedding blog after all. And after one trip, my mind was already spinning with possibilities

Since we’re having an outdoor rehearsal dinner, I started eyeing up all the pre-prepared catering trays. You could easily cater a whole party or reception pretty economically, with food and booze, all from Costco. Their turkey wraps are pretty delicious, actually. And while we’re on the subject of food, you can definitely save money by filling up welcome bags with snacks and candy you bought in bulk.

Who knew Costco had wedding invitations? They have every type of wedding stationary imaginable, and some of it is dirt cheap. You could also make use of their Photolab to print thank you postcards or create a book of your wedding photos.

Or you could do like this bride, and order flowers from Costco which she says are cheaper than wholesale. I would trust her too, her wedding was so fresh, modern and gorgeous I’ll probably write up a whole feature about it later this week. If you can’t wait, go here to check out the rest of the pictures, they are amazing!

 

3 Responses to “Buying in Bulk”

  1. Linda Says:

    I considered getting our invites from Costco. But I liked the ones at Wedding Paper Divas better. Fit our theme better.
    I did get our rehearsal dinner food at Costco.
    I keep my trips to Costco to a minimum but we do buy certain things.

  2. Yes, yes and yes. I have a Sams Club membership. I heard Costco does food reaaally well though. We’re planning to go with one or the other – since my family swears by Costco but my friend has a Costco membership and will not let me say “no” to getting our reception food there until I go in person and see what it’s like. Cupcakes at Sams are about $12/30 and a 10″ cake is just $12. too! The platters hover around $19-26 for 16-18 people (roughly). So, if Costco is BETTER… wow.

  3. Let me know how costo worked out. There is something scarey about ordering wedding flowers from a big store like that. Great pictures.


Leave a Reply

