BridalCheek

a journey toward non-traditional wedded bliss, with style

Our New Toy April 7, 2009

To commemorate Drew’s last mid-twenties birthday, his grandparents, dad, and I all went in together to get him a solution to the serious camera envy he’s been experiencing ever since the last wedding we went to where he played with a Canon Rebel.

Behold the Nikon D-40:

images

When we bought it today, our salesperson immediately lapsed into a foreign language rattling off words and abbreviations like “aperture,” “ISO,” and “granularity.” Drew nodded knowingly, while I became increasingly terrified that I would a) never be able to turn the camera on, much less take a decent picture b) these words also double as some password to the elitist photography underground or c) I am going to drop it. But all my fears quickly dissolved when I realized that the camera is not only user-friendly but really cool to use. Sure, I’m only pointing and shooting right now, but regardless we spent an awesome afternoon walking around German Village snapping pictures of everything in sight.

What does this have to do with weddings? Well, besides my urge to take creative pictures of my ring, I’m in the midst of a ton of DIY projects right now, so now I have the equipment to document it all in high res 🙂 For now I’ll leave you with a few of our beginning efforts. We have a lot to learn, but I think this will be a perfect new hobby for us to share.

dsc_0038

 

csc_0155

dsc_01341

 

 

8 Responses to “Our New Toy”

  1. lmariea Says:

    Yay! I love DSLRs and evangelize for them every chance I get. You’ll be messing with the aperture and shutter speed settings in no time!

  2. Matt Says:

    Is that you in the pic? You’re BEAUTIFUL! *swooon*

  3. Gavrilin Says:

    Пора переименовать блог, присвоив название связанное с доменами 🙂 может хватит про них?

  4. Cederash Says:

    Классная статья – спасибо!

  5. Maylea Says:

    Nikon D40 is really a great camera for budding photographers… 🙂 The friendly interface really helps in understand the jargons such as ISO, shutter speed and such… 🙂

  6. Ferinannnd Says:

    Подписался на RSS, буду следить =)

  7. Avertedd Says:

    хороший рассказ, все разложено по полкам

  8. mismikado Says:

    I love getting a new camera 🙂 Please visit my wedding blog to see what I’ve left you in my last post 🙂


Leave a Reply

